projection mapping

Standard

I was trying out some basic mapping using Paintbrush and loaded the design into Isadora as a jpeg. I want to use actual mapping software, but for now I’m just trying to see what’s possible with the most basic tools available. Plus, I saw a guide where a guy was using this exact technique with microsoft paint and photoshop.  What I did was trace the outline of the box while in paintbrush with the display mirrored. Then I filled in the 2 sides with color and added a black background. I saved it as a jpeg and loaded it into Isadora to project onto the box. Unfortunately, the Isadora stage output made the design smaller than it was in paintbrush, so it did not cover the entire box… I can’t figure out why because I have the stage size set at 1280×800 pixels (the same as my image size in paintbrush).  If anyone has advice on how to make the images match up, I’d appreciate it.  I was thinking of mapping a series of geometric shapes, all in a row, and make it so that each shape corresponds with a musical note.  People can touch the tops of the shapes to make them light up and play music.  It’s a longshot right now, but I’m hoping to make it a reality.

IMG_7168 IMG_7169Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 4.24.30 PM Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 4.28.33 PM IMG_7172 IMG_7171

Leave a Reply

